Summer Heat!

In the Brazos Valley it has been over 100 degrees for the past 18 days straight… and we have planned for 10 more!!!  With this heat our soil garden is done.  My front and backyard grass is done.  I cut down three dead trees a week and a half ago because… they were done.  Right now I’m watering my trees every other day for about 30min.  The key to watering trees is you have to water at the drip line.  Here is a picture of the drip line –

The Aquaponics system has been getting by fine, but I’m loosing water due to evaporation which I have planned to happen.  I have been adding about 5 gal of water a day to the system and the blue gill are loving this hot weather.  My plants are getting by, but compared to my soil garden they are thriving!!!  I plan to add some Fall vegetables in mid September like broccoli and kale.  Here are a few pictures –

We also hosted a Composting Class taught by Thomas Supercinski (his blog).  He was and is a great teacher and got my composting system up and running.  Everything used to make this bin was found in Bryan, TX for FREE!!!

One thought on “Summer Heat!

Leave a comment